All About Ashley

Welcome to Happy Healthy Ashley!

Updated May 22, 2014:

This page is about my journey to be happier, get healthy and be comfortable being me – one pound, one step and one change at a time. Also, I plan on using this blog to be brutally honest…you’ve been warned! (Still true!)

I’m currently 28 29 years old, living in Virginia with my husband Peter and darling puppy Mollie. I graduated from Virginia Tech in 2005, then stuck around and graduated again in 2007. I’m currently working on my doctorate degree in educational leadership. I work in student conduct and love it. Don’t be surprised if you see a post or two about higher education, student affairs or my progress in my program.

All my life I’ve struggled with my weight. My lowest weight was 175 back in 2007-2008. Earlier this year (2013 2014), my weight topped at 282 291 and I was recently diagnosed with type II diabetes. I’m frustrated, unhappy and so mad at myself. Since starting this blog and as of May 2014, I’ve lost over 20 pounds and I’m feeling confident that I can succeed in reaching my goals. I think people are surprised I share my weight so freely. It’s just a number, it doesn’t define me but it is certainly not something I disclose easily or wear with a badge of honor.

My health goals include:

-Eliminating (most) processed foods from my diet

-Losing 100 pounds

-Fully running a 5k

-Managing my diabetes and getting off my medications and glucose checker

-Feeling confident about my body

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s