#ThisIs30

Happy belated birthday to me! My 30th birthday was a week and a day ago! My friends and family were so kind to have a surprise party for me which I loved! I rang in 30 being unusually sick (bronchitis, severe neck issues and pain) but it was so nice to see so many of my loved ones share in my birthday celebration.

I originally had all these great things that I wanted to blog about and make all these great plans for my 30th year – and somehow, eight days later, I still haven’t committed to any of my goals or written out a plan.

I reckon it’s about time to fix that, don’t you think?

I loved my 20s. I learned, I loved, I lived but I’ve realized that I’m not the same person that I used to be. Obviously we all grow and change as that is a part of life, but I’ve morphed into a person I don’t always recognize. I don’t think I put enough effort into myself, which has led to me feeling (and being) frumpy, overweight and not nearly the same “fun, energetic” person I used to be and loved. How can I get back to being that person?

Overall for year 30, I want to focus on my health but I’ve said that for so long, what’s it going to to take to make a lasting change? I really don’t have the answers, but I need to make and COMMIT to a plan. I’m not rushing into anything or laying out a goal for the sake of setting one. I hope to have some clear deliverables by the time I turn 31 and I want to embrace being in my 30s and actually learn from the lessons.

I guess a good place to start is thinking about what are my end goals?

By the time I turn 31 I want:

  • To be under 200 pounds
  • To have saved one month of emergency expenses
  • To have passed my qualifying exams for my doctoral program
  • To run 30 minutes at least 3x a week
  • To take better care of myself (a little make-up wouldn’t hurt, better fitting clothes, etc.)

If those are my five areas I want to concentrate my efforts, then I should have no problem creating a plan and measuring the steps I take during the year. I will blog at least monthly to discuss my progress.

So, here goes nothing – cheers to 30!

Leave a Reply

