Thrive On

Yesterday was day five of my personal 90-day challenge. I haven’t written much about my challenge, mainly because I always have the best of plans and the worst of follow-through; a quick glance back at previous blog entries will confirm that statement. Now that I am closing in on a week of staying focused and committing to my challenge, I’m ready to start blogging again on a more consistent basis.

My goals are simple:

  • My challenge runs from May 17-August 14, 2014
  • Recommit to Dave Ramsey’s Baby Steps
  • Lose weight (at least 25 pounds)
  • Get at least 20 minutes of activity at least 5x per week and fully run a 5k at the end of my challenge
  • Organize various aspects of my life (academically, at home, at work)

Yesterday, my statuses on Facebook and Twitter both included the phrase, “Day 5 and ready to thrive!”

Thrive.

I’ve recently (as in, since yesterday) learned that I love the word thrive. It sounds…passionate, happy, motivating. I WANT to thrive. I NEED to thrive. So, I decided to look up the official definition of my word of the moment, and it made me love it even more:

Merriam-Webster online dictionary defines thrive as:

:  to grow vigorously :  flourish
:  to gain in wealth or possessions :  prosper
:  to progress toward or realize a goal despite or because of circumstances
I am constantly in a perpetual state of “YAY I’m so excited to lose weight, this is my time to shine, this will be amazing,” and “Well, crap. Here I go again. Failure. I’m always going to be unhealthy.” Perhaps persistence is part of my process. Perhaps my journey includes moments of success, and times of rock-bottom failure. It might include many, many bumps in the roads, many restarts, slow progress and an relentless sense of “I can do it, even if now isn’t my time.”
Is it odd that I really think NOW is my time – my time to thrive. To flourish, to prosper and to realize my goal no matter the challenges? I have a different type of motivation right now. The carrot of turning 30 is dangling so close I can touch it, my health is at a potential crossroads and I don’t want to be the wife that “let’s herself go” now that she’s married.
Right now, there’s nowhere by my motivation and success to go up, and my weight to come down. I feel grounded in realistic expectations and I am holding on strong to my commitment to myself, to my husband and to those who are supporting me on this journey.
Thrive on.
Leave a Reply

