Happy Birthday to Me!

The title of this blog is actually misleading. Yes, it is literally my birthday but I feel like I’m saying happy birthday to a new me.

A new me who will (finally) stop putting my health last on my to-do/priority list.

A new me who will (finally) stop making excuses for my weight, for not working out, for “trying” but not “doing” better.

A new me who will (finally) be the me I want to be.

First what are my goals? I thought about doing a cutesy “30 before 30” list and realized I don’t want to put anything on my list of goals just to put it there. What’s actually important to me? With that in mind, here are my goals to accomplish in the next 365 days:

1. Lose 100 pounds. And subsequently maintain my weight loss.

2. Get a “clean bill of health” from my doctor which is coupled with take better care of myself as an overall/general goal.

4. Work up to running 3x a week for at least 30 minutes. (which leads me to #5…)

5. Fully run a 5k. (This has been a long-time goal.)

6. Save one month of expenses in an emergency fund. (I feel that by 30 I should be more responsible with our finances.)

7. Wear a bathing suit without fear or shame.

8. Complete estate planning with Peter. (No one ever wants to think about it, but it’s something that everyone needs to do.)

9. Fit into my “skinny jeans” I’ve kept around, just in case.

10. Rock a super cute ‘little black dress.’

Don’t we all owe it to ourselves to be the best version of ourselves we can be? If I were happy and healthy at my current weight, it would be one thing – but I’m not. Frankly, I’m miserable. My body aches under the extra weight. My wardrobe is laughable because of the few things that somewhat fit. When I see myself, I don’t see curves, only fat. I have become such a homebody. Don’t get me wrong, I love doing nothing and having no where to go, but it’s come to a point where I’d rather stay at home than put myself and my weight on display.

And Peter, he’s practically a saint for putting up with me. I complain about being overweight, but usually the complaints come as I’m drowning my pity in a pizza, or ice cream, or whatever craving I’m having at that moment. When he tries to help, I give up or I’m really cranky. He’s been so supportive and he asks that we eat healthier and work out together. It’s really me who has been holding myself back.

So, I have my “top 10 for 30.” I have the motivation. I have the want for a better, happier, healthier, more confident, more comfortable life.I have what it takes to be successful.

Happy birthday Ashley – you can do this.

Love,

-Yourself

One thought on “Happy Birthday to Me!

Leave a Reply

